Parish Council

The main roles of the Parish Council are to:

  • Represent residents interests and communicate them to Somerset West & Taunton Council, Somerset County Council, Somerset and Avon Police and other relevant organisations
  • Comment on planning applications
  • Support local organisations and activities
  • Help look after footpaths
  • Care for amenities and village assets such as the bus shelter and telephone kiosk.

Parish Councillors are volunteers who work for the benefit of the community and are either elected to office or co-opted to fill vacancies. The Chair and Vice Chair are elected annually at the Annual Parish Council Meeting. The current Chair is Jan Swan and the Vice-chair is Nick Brodrick. The Parish Council currently has no sub-committees although these may be set up periodically to address specific issues.

Sampford Brett has up to seven Parish Councillors but one position is currently vacant. If you are interested in joining the Parish Council, please contact the Chair or Clerk. 

The Parish Council is supported by a part-time Clerk, Tracey-Ann Biss. The Clerk is an officer of the Council and is responsible for implementation of the Council’s decisions, administration of the finances and advising Council on its policy and procedures.

Contact details for our Councillors and Clerk are provided here.

Loading... Updating page...